Wk 3 – Artist Interview – Jesse Lubben

This week while at the art galleries, there were 3 artist’s works on display. The stand-out artist for me however, was Jesse Lubben with his gallery titled Photosomatic. This gallery presented photos of photos that had already been photoshopped, cut, re-photographed, and positioned to create mine-bending pieces that defied logical structure. I found Jesse’s work to be very interesting do to its interesting arrangements and structures. I found myself spending tons of time in this gallery just having fun being confused by the different curves and folds in each picture.

I found one picture in particular that I loved the color pattern of. There were dark purples and lighter brown formed into a folded diamond-type shape. I was first intrigued by this picture because I could not clearly figure out what the purple color was made of. I could see it was a stretched picture of something but I was unsure what. I eventually assumed it was simply some type of quarts crystal that the artist had photographed.

It was only after talking to the artist that I saw the picture used was a close-up of tree bark that had been modified to appear purple. I Also asked the artist about what he had photographed in the pictures he had used. He explained that most of the shots were made up of shots taken in nature on local hiking trails or on his trip to china he had taken earlier this year. I asked Jesse what had inspired him to make this series. He said he had been heavily inspired by the writings of Loren Eiseley who was an anthropologist who approached the telling of people’s histories and societies form a strongly geographical perspective. The fusion of geography and society showed clearly in the work between the pictures showing nature shots presented next to views of modern china.

Jesse also touched on the subject of contradiction. I mentioned to him that I loved standing in front of each picture trying to “figure out” the process used to create each. He said that he did that intentionally. He cited contradictions as a powerful tool to keep viewers interested in a piece of work. Since the brain is naturally a problem solver, when presented with something that doesn’t make sense, a person will spend time trying to figure it out.

Leave a Reply

